Onlookers watch as a woman leaves a store after breaking the Nazi boycott of Jewish businesses. State Archive of Lower Saxony, Aurich site

Some were neighbours: perpetration, complicity and resistance

Exhibition of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Opening 26 March, 5 pm (online)

Perpetrators, Fellow Travellers and Resistance deals with one of the central of the central questions about the Holocaust: How was the Holocaust possible? The central role of Adolf Hitler and other Nazi leaders is undeniable. leaders is undeniable, but they were dependent on countless others. What role did ordinary people play? Why did so many support the crimes of the Nazis... ...or remained silent? Why did so few help the victims? The realization that the Holocaust was possible because people... in Germany and all of Europe were motivated for various reasons were motivated to consent to or participate in the genocide.., is crucial to learning the lessons of the Holocaust. The Holocaust reminds us that the unthinkable is always is possible. It also reminds us that individuals have more... power than they may know - for better or for worse. bad. The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum hopes.., ...that this exhibition will inspire us to consider our own possibilities... for a better future.

Due to the Corona Protection Ordinance, VISITING THE EXHIBITION is only possible by appointment. We allocate timeslots of one hour and admit a maximum of 20 people. The visit to the exhibition is free of charge. Please note: You will need a negative corona test upon entry. Only so-called citizen tests (not older than 24 hours), which have been carried out and certified at the official test centres, are valid for admission. Quick tests for home use, for example from discount stores or supermarkets, are not permitted according to the currently valid Conora Protection Ordinance.

Possible dates (BETWEEN 11-15 AM)

April 10,
April 11
April 17,
April 18,
April 24
April 25

Registration for a visit to the exhibition: Please fill out our contact form. We will get back to you manually whether a visit is possible on the requested date.

Lecture by Samuel Salzborn, anti-Semitism commissioner Berlin: "All Victims, No Perpetrators? The Shoa in German Memory"

3/31, 7:00 p.m.

The confrontation with National Socialism and the Shoah the Shoah was long considered a German success story. In the process, the history of the defense against guilt and remembrance, the perpetrator-victim reversal, the self-stylization as a victim and anti-Semitic projection, which have left a lasting mark on which have left a lasting mark on German society. Samuel Salzborn is an adjunct professor of political science at the University of Giessen and contact person of the state of Berlin on anti-Semitism.

Due to the Corona Protection Ordinance, participation in the lecture is only possible online. We will gladly send you the link after your registration. The registration is free of charge for you.

Registration Online Lecture: Samuel Salzborn

Lecture Dr. Imke Hansen (Lüneburg), "Behind the Scenes of Remembrance. The Auschwitz-Birkenau Symbol in History Politics and Memorials 1945-2010"

08.04., 7.30 p.m.

More than two million people now visit the Auschwitz-Birkenau memorial site every year. Interest in the site is growing steadily, while other extermination camps such as Sobibor or Treblinka are being forgotten.

The term Auschwitz, just like the image of the Birkenau Gate, has become a universally recognizable symbol of the Holocaust. But how did this meaning develop? What happens behind the facades of the memorial? What controversies and dogmas shape the commemoration in and of Auschwitz-Birkenau?

The historian Dr. Imke Hansen specializes in interdisciplinary research on violence, in particular on the representation of the experience of violence.

Due to the Corona Protection Ordinance, participation in the lecture is only possible online. We will gladly send you the link after your registration. The registration is free of charge for you.

Registration online lecture: Dr. Imke Hansen

Lecture by Matthias Küntzel:
"Nazis and the Middle East: How Islamic Anti-Semitism arose"

April 20, 7.30 pm

In 1937, with the pamphlet "Islam and Judaism", a new form of hatred of Jews a new form of Jew-hatred came into the world: Islamic anti-Semitism. The National Socialists did everything they could to spread this new message of hatred with the help of their Arabic-language radio propaganda. The book sheds light on this chapter of Germany's past that has been unknown until now. It presents new archival findings that prove how the image of the Jews in Islam between 1937 and 1948 under the influence of this propaganda propaganda and other Nazi activities. This new perspective on Middle Eastern history enables a more precise assessment of the present: What exactly is "Islamic anti-Semitism"? "Islamic anti-Semitism"? How does it currently appear in Germany and France? What makes it particularly dangerous? Only when we understand how strongly modern Middle Eastern history is marked by the aftermath by the aftermath of National Socialism, will we be able to understand the hatred of Jews in this region and its echoes among Muslims in Muslims in Europe and develop adequate countermeasures. countermeasures.

Due to the Corona Protection Ordinance, participation in the lecture is only possible online. We will gladly send you the link after your registration. The registration is free of charge for you.

Registration online lecture: Matthias Küntzel

Digital guided tours through the special exhibition

April 17, 1:000 p.m. and April 22, 7:00 p.m.

Sandra Franz, head of the NS-Dokumentationsstelle Krefeld, will explain the exhibition using selected examples and invites visitors to discuss complicity, resistance and the grey areas in between. 

Due to the Corona Protection Ordinance, participation in the lecture is only possible online. We will gladly send you the link after your registration to ns-doku@krefeld.de. The registration is free of charge for you.

Registration digital guided tour (please specify date)

Schaulustige sehen zu, wie eine Frau einen Laden verlässt, nachdem sie den nationalsozialistischen Boykott jüdischer Geschäfte gebrochen hat. Niedersächsisches Landesarchiv, Standort Aurich

Einige waren Nachbarn: Täterschaft, Mitläufertum und Widerstand

Ausstellung des United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Eröffnung 26. März, 17 Uhr (online)

Täterschaft, Mitläufertum und Widerstand befasst sich mit einer der zentralen Fragen zum Holocaust: Wie war der Holocaust möglich? Die zentrale Rolle von Adolf Hitler und anderer nationalsozialistischer Führer ist unbestreitbar, aber sie waren von unzähligen anderen abhängig. Welche Rolle spielten die gewöhnlichen Menschen? Warum haben so Viele die Verbrechen der Nationalsozialisten unterstützt oder geschwiegen? Warum haben so Wenige den Opfern geholfen? Die Erkenntnis, dass der Holocaust möglich wurde, weil Menschen in Deutschland und ganz Europa aus verschiedenen Gründen motiviert waren, dem Völkermord zuzustimmen oder daran mitzuwirken, ist entscheidend, um Lehren aus dem Holocaust zu ziehen. Der Holocaust erinnert uns daran, dass das Undenkbare immer möglich ist. Es erinnert uns auch daran, dass Individuen mehr Macht haben, als sie vielleicht wissen – zum Guten oder zum Schlechten. Das United States Holocaust Memorial Museum hofft, dass diese Ausstellung dazu inspiriert, über eigene Einflussmöglichkeiten für eine bessere Zukunft nachzudenken.

Aufgrund der Coronaschutzverordnung ist dER BESUCH DER AUSSTELLUNG ausschließlich mit Anmeldung möglich.  Wir vergeben jeweils timeslots von einer Stunde und lassen  maximal 20 personen ein. Der Ausstellungsbesuch ist für Sie Kostenfrei. Bitte beachten Sie: Sie brauchen bei Eintritt einen negativen Corona-Test. Gültig für den Zutritt sind nur sogenannte Bürgertests (nicht älter als 24 Stunden), die an den offiziellen Teststellen durchgeführt und bescheinigt worden sind. Schnelltests für daheim, etwa aus dem Discounter oder Supermarkt sind, laut aktuell gültiger ConoraSchutzVerordnung, nicht zulässig.

Mögliche Termine (ZWISCHEN 11-15 UHR)

10. April,
11. April
17. April,
18. April,
24. April
25. April

Anmeldung zum Besuch der Ausstellung: Bitte füllen Sie unser Kontaktformular aus. Wir melden uns händisch zurück, ob ein Besuch zum angefragten Termin möglich ist.

Vortrag Samuel Salzborn, Antisemitismusbeauftragter Berlin: „Alles Opfer, keine Täter? Die Shoa in der deutschen Erinnerung“

31.03., 19.00 Uhr

Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Nationalsozialismus und der Shoah galt lange als bundes-deutsche Erfolgsgeschichte. Dabei wird die Geschichte der Schuld- und Erinnerungsabwehr, der Täter-Opfer-Umkehr, der Selbststilisierung als Opfer und der antisemitischen Projektion ausgeblendet, die die deutsche Gesellschaft nachhaltig geprägt haben. Samuel Salzborn ist apl. Professor für Politikwissenschaft an der Uni Gießen und Ansprechpartner des Landes Berlin zu Antisemitismus.

Aufgrund der Coronaschutzverordnung ist die Teilnahme am Vortrag ausschließlich  Online Möglich. Gerne schicken wir Ihnen den Link nach Ihrer Anmeldung zu. Die Anmeldung ist für Sie kostenfrei.

Anmeldung Online-Vortrag: Samuel Salzborn

Vortrag Dr. Imke Hansen (Lüneburg), „Hinter den Kulissen des Gedenkens. Das Symbol Auschwitz-Birkenau in Geschichtspolitik und Gedenkstätte 1945-2010"

08.04., 19.30 Uhr

Mehr als zwei Millionen Menschen besuchen mittlerweile jährlich die Gedenkstätte Auschwitz-Birkenau. Das Interesse an jenem Ort wächst stetig, während andere Vernichtungslager wie Sobibor oder Treblinka in Vergessenheit geraten.

Der Begriff Auschwitz ist, genau wie das Bild des Tores von Birkenau, zum allgemein erkennbaren Symbol für den Holocaust geworden. Doch wie hat sich diese Bedeutung entwickelt? Was geschieht hinter den Fassaden der Gedenkstätte? Welche Kontroversen und Dogmen prägen das Gedenken in und an Auschwitz-Birkenau?

Die Historikerin Dr. Imke Hansen spezialisiert sich auf interdisziplinäre Gewaltforschung, im Besonderen auf die Repräsentation von Gewalterfahrung.

Aufgrund der Coronaschutzverordnung ist die Teilnahme am Vortrag ausschließlich  Online Möglich. Gerne schicken wir Ihnen den Link nach Ihrer Anmeldung zu. Die Anmeldung ist für Sie kostenfrei.

Anmeldung Online-Vortrag: Dr. Imke Hansen

Vortrag Matthias Küntzel:
„Nazis und der Nahe Osten: Wie der islamische Antisemitismus entstand“

20. April, 19.30 Uhr

1937 kam mit der Broschüre „Islam und Judentum“ eine neue Form von Judenhass in die Welt: der islamische Antisemitismus. Die Nationalsozialisten taten alles, um diese neue Hassbotschaft mithilfe ihrer arabischsprachigen Radiopropaganda zu verankern. Das Buch beleuchtet dieses bislang unbekannte Kapitel deutscher Vergangenheit. Es präsentiert neue Archivfunde, die belegen, wie sich das Judenbild im Islam zwischen 1937 und 1948 unter dem Einfluss dieser Propaganda und sonstiger Nazi-Aktivitäten veränderte. Dieser neue Blick auf die Nahostgeschichte ermöglicht eine präzisere Beurteilung der Gegenwart: Was genau ist „islamischer Antisemitismus“? Wie tritt er gegenwärtig in Deutschland und Frankreich in Erscheinung? Was macht ihn besonders gefährlich? Erst wenn wir begreifen, wie stark die moderne Nahostgeschichte von den Nachwirkungen des Nationalsozialismus geprägt ist, werden wir den Judenhass in dieser Region und dessen Echo unter Muslimen in Europa richtig deuten und adäquate Gegenmaßnahmen entwickeln können.

Aufgrund der Coronaschutzverordnung ist die Teilnahme am Vortrag ausschließlich  Online Möglich. Gerne schicken wir Ihnen den Link nach Ihrer Anmeldung zu. Die Anmeldung ist für Sie kostenfrei.

Anmeldung Online-Vortrag: Matthias Küntzel

Digitale Führungen durch die Sonderausstellung

17. April, 13:000 Uhr und 22. April 19:00 Uhr

Sandra franz, Leiterin der NS-Dokumentationsstelle Krefeld, erläutert anhand von ausgewählten Beispielen die Ausstellung und lädt ein zur Diskussion über Mittäterschaft, Widerstand und Grauzonen dazwischen. 

Aufgrund der Coronaschutzverordnung ist die Teilnahme am Vortrag ausschließlich  Online Möglich. Gerne schicken wir Ihnen den Link nach Ihrer Anmeldung  an ns-doku@krefeld.de zu. Die Anmeldung ist für Sie kostenfrei.

Anmeldung digitale Führung (bitte Datum angeben)