Alfred, Berta, Inge Lorant
Deported to Izbica. Died in an unknown place.
Amalie, Edith, Ernst, Karl, Regine Schaffrath
Persecuted and deported from Uerdingen.
Johann Martin Winkels
As a homosexual in the concentration camp Dachau died in an unknown way.
Karl Meyer family
Expelled from their homeland as Jews.
Richard Merländer
Murdered in Treblinka.

Stumbling blocks in Krefeld

A project of the Villa Merländer Association and the artist Gunter Demnig

Against forgetting. The artist Gunter Demnig commemorates the victims of the Nazi era by placing brass plaques in the pavement in front of their last self-chosen place of residence. Meanwhile, Stumbling Stones are located in 1265 municipalities in Germany and in 21 European countries. The words "lived here" are always written on them. Because there, where the memory is kept alive, a person is not forgotten. At the same time, the Stumbling Stones reflect the most important dates of life and fates: A Stumbling Stone reveals when a person was born, the respective reason for persecution and, if applicable, when he or she died.

Not only Jewish victims of the Holocaust are commemorated with the Stumbling Stones, but also Sinti and Roma, Jehovah's Witnesses, homosexuals, the mentally and physically ill and people who were persecuted because of their political views or because their life plan did not fit into the world view of National Socialism. 

The Villa Merländer-Verein has been involved in the artist's action for many years and not only looks after the laying of the stumbling blocks, but also takes care of the financing through the acquisition of donations, public relations and the care and maintenance of the stones.

A person is only forgotten when his name is forgotten.

quotes artist Gunter Demnig den Talmund

More than 150 stumbling blocks in Krefeld - A project of the heart!

Started in 1996 in Cologne, more than 70,000 Stumbling Blocks have been laid in the meantime. Of these, more than 150 brass plates have been laid as stumbling blocks in Krefeld since 2006. The road to this has not been an easy one, because especially in the first few years the project had to struggle with great resistance, especially from the political side. The first stumbling block was initiated in 2003 by the Rheinische Schule für Körperbehinderte Krefeld (Gerd-Jansen-Schule) as part of a competition organized by the Federal Agency for Civic Education. A little later the Kurt-Tucholsky-Gesamtschule also took the initiative and set a stone. 

In 2005, the decision on stumbling blocks was brought to the council meeting in Krefeld: the council surprisingly rejected the project. The Stumbling Stones then developed into a matter close to the hearts of many people in Krefeld. On the initiative of the survivors Dr. Ruth Frank and Ilse Kassel as well as students and their teachers from the Kurt-Tucholsky-School, 14,000 signatures were collected for the implementation of the project. The then Lord Mayor Gregor Kathstede reached a compromise: if the house owners did not expressly oppose a stumbling block and relatives of the victims had no objections, stumbling blocks could be laid from now on. Since then, the Villa Merländer Association, especially board member Sibylle Kühne-Franken, has been in charge of laying and coordinating the Stumbling Stones in Krefeld and has been responsible for coming to terms with the individual fates of the Nazi victims.

Help me! Become a stumbling stone sponsor!

If you are thinking of creating a stumbling block, you will find the organisational framework for this below:

For the laying of a stumbling stone 120€ expenses are incurred. The initiative for laying a Stumbling Stone can come from different actors: For example, the descendants of the victims who contact the NS-Documentation Centre or the Villa Merländer e.V., citizens of the city, schools that work with the culture of remembrance or associations or institutions that want to set an example against forgetting. The NS-Documentation Centre then clarifies all the historical background for the stones to be laid and maintains contact with the initiators. The Förderverein Villa Merländer e.V. clarifies all organizational questions with the city of Krefeld and the Demnig office. We will announce the date of the laying as early as possible. All donors will of course be invited personally.

Would you like to participate in the laying of the next stumbling blocks in Krefeld? We are pleased about direct donations under the keyword "Stolpersteine" to

Villa Merländer e. V.
IBAN DE76 3205 0000 0000 3438 06

Friedrich-Josef Wihl
He was one of the first Jews to be deported from Krefeld and gassed.
Alfred Goldstein
Died of illness on Christmas Eve in Bergen-Belsen concentration camp.
Hermann and Elisabeth Heart
Murdered in the death camps Belzec or Sobibor.
Hermann and Jeanette Goldschmidt
Became homeless at an advanced age.
Rudolf and Sophie Müller
Victim of the November 1938 programe. Died in deportation.

Did you know? Experience stumbling blocks online!

In the geoportal of the city of Krefeld the stumbling blocks can also be experienced interactively online. With a click of the mouse, pictures, biographical texts, Wikipedia information and other factual information such as victim group and place of deportation can be found. It is also possible to search specifically for the names of the victims or the addresses of the Stumbling Stones. A query tool allows different filtering of the stumbling blocks, for example only displaying stumbling blocks of resistance fighters. The query tool also helps to answer initial spatio-temporal questions such as "Show me all stumbling blocks whose victims were deported to Buchenwald in 1937".

Against forgetting: The Stumbling Stone Stories

We look forward to getting to know you!

Would you like to ask for more information about the Stumbling Block Project or individual stories? You are interested in donating? Please contact us and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

Villa Merländer e.V.

Friedrich-Ebert-Strasse 42
47799 Krefeld

Alfred, Berta, Inge Lorant
Nach Izbica deportiert. An unbekanntem Ort verstorben.
Amalie, Edith, Ernst, Karl, Regine Schaffrath
Aus Uerdingen verfolgt und deportiert.
Johann Martin Winkels
Als Homosexueller im Konzentrationslager Dachau auf unbekannte Weise zu Tode gekommen.
Familie Karl Meyer
Als Juden aus ihrer Heimat vertrieben.
Richard Merländer
In Treblinka ermordet.

Stolpersteine in Krefeld

Ein Projekt des Villa Merländer Vereins und des Künstlers Gunter Demnig

Gegen das Vergessen. Der Künstler Gunter Demnig erinnert an die Opfer der NS-Zeit, indem er vor ihrem letzten selbstgewählten Wohnort Gedenktafeln aus Messing ins Trottoir einlässt. Inzwischen liegen Stolpersteine in 1265 Kommunen Deutschlands und in 21 Ländern Europas. Immer stehen darauf die Worte „Hier wohnte“. Denn dort, wo die Erinnerung aufrecht erhalten wird, wird ein Mensch nicht vergessen. Gleichzeitig geben die Stolpersteine die wichtigsten Lebensdaten und Schicksale wieder: Ein Stolperstein verrät, wann der Mensch geboren wurde, den jeweiligen Verfolgungsgrund und ggf., wann er zu Tode gekommen ist.

Nicht nur jüdische Opfer des Holocausts werden mit den Stolpersteinen bedacht, genauso gedenken wir Sinti und Roma, Zeugen Jehovas, Homosexuellen, geistig und körperlich Kranken und Menschen, die aufgrund ihrer politischen Einstellung verfolgt wurden oder weil sie mit ihrem Lebensentwurf nicht in das Weltbild des Nationalsozialismus passten. 

Der Villa Merländer-Verein beteiligt sich seit vielen Jahren an der Aktion des Künstlers und betreut nicht nur die Verlegung der Stolpersteine, sondern kümmert sich um die Finanzierung durch das Akquirieren von Spendengeldern, um Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und um die Betreuung und Pflege der Steine.

Ein Mensch ist erst vergessen, wenn sein Name vergessen ist.

zitiert Künstler Gunter Demnig den Talmund

Mehr als 150 Stolpersteine in Krefeld - Ein Herzensprojekt!

1996 in Köln begonnen, sind inzwischen mehr als 70.000 Stolpersteine verlegt worden. Davon sind mehr als 150 Messingtafeln als Stolpersteine seit 2006 in Krefeld verlegt worden. Der Weg dahin war nicht leicht, denn vor allem in den ersten Jahren hatte das Projekt mit großem Widerstand, vor allem von politischer Seite, zu kämpfen. Den ersten Stolperstein initiierte 2003 die Rheinische Schule für Körperbehinderte Krefeld (Gerd-Jansen-Schule) im Rahmen eines Wettbewerbs der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung. Wenig später ergriff auch die Kurt-Tucholsky-Gesamtschule die Initiative und setzte einen Stein. 

Im Jahr 2005 trug man die Beschlussfassung über Stolpersteine in Krefeld in die Ratssitzung: Dieser lehnte überraschend das Projekt ab. Die Stolpersteine entwickelten sich anschließend zu einer Herzensangelegenheit vieler Krefelder. Auf die Initiative der Überlebenden Dr. Ruth Frank und Ilse Kassel sowie von SchülerInnen und ihren Lehrkräften der Kurt-Tucholsky-Schule konnten 14.000 Unterschriften für eine Umsetzung des Projektes gesammelt werden. Der damalige Oberbürgermeister Gregor Kathstede erreichte einen Kompromiss: Wenn die HauseigentümerInnen sich nicht ausdrücklich gegen einen Stolperstein aussprachen und Verwandte der Opfer keine Einwände hätten, dürften ab jetzt Stolpersteine gelegt werden. Seither betreut der Villa Merländer-Verein, vor allem das Vorstandsmitglied Sibylle Kühne-Franken, die Verlegung und Koordination der Stolpersteine in Krefeld und sorgt für die Aufarbeitung der individuellen Schicksale der NS-Opfer.

Helfen Sie mit! Werden Sie Stolpersteinpate!

Falls Sie mit dem Gedanken spielen, einen Stolperstein zu stiften, finden Sie nachfolgend die organisatorischen Rahmenbedingungen hierfür:

Für die Verlegung eines Stolpersteins fallen 120€ Unkosten an. Die Initiative für eine Verlegung kann von verschiedenen AkteurInnen ausgehen: Beispielsweise von Nachkommen der Opfer, die sich an die NS-Dokumentationsstelle oder den Villa Merländer e.V. wenden, von BürgerInnen der Stadt, von Schulen, die mit an der Erinnerungskultur arbeiten oder von Vereinen oder Institutionen, die ein Zeichen gegen das Vergessen setzen möchten. Die NS-Dokumentationsstelle klärt daraufhin alle historischen Hintergründe für die zu verlegenden Steine und hält Kontakt zu den InitiatorInnen. Der Förderverein Villa Merländer e.V. klärt alle organisatorischen Fragen mit der Stadt Krefeld und dem Büro Demnig. Den Termin der Verlegung geben wir so früh wie möglich bekannt. Alle StifterInnen werden natürlich persönlich hierzu eingeladen.

Sie möchten sich an der Verlegung der nächsten Stolpersteine in Krefeld beteiligen? Wir freuen uns über Direktspenden unter dem Stichwort „Stolpersteine“ an:

Villa Merländer e. V.
IBAN DE76 3205 0000 0000 3438 06

Friedrich-Josef Wihl
Wurde als einer der ersten Juden aus Krefeld deportiert und vergast.
Alfred Goldstein
An Heiligabend im Konzentrationslager Bergen-Belsen an Krankheit gestorben.
Hermann und Elisabeth Herz
Ermordet in den Vernichtungslagern Belzec oder Sobibor.
Hermann und Jeanette Goldschmidt
In hohem Alter heimatlos geworden.
Rudolf und Sophie Müller
Opfer des Novemberprogrom 1938. Bei der Deportation gestorben.

Wussten Sie schon? Stolpersteine online erleben!

Im Geoportal der Stadt Krefeld können auch die Stolpersteine online interaktiv erlebt werden. Per Mausklick lassen sich Bilder, Biographietexte, Wikipedia-Informationen und weitere Sachinformationen wie Opfergruppe und Deportationsort herausfinden. Auch kann gezielt nach Namen der Opfer bzw. den Adressen der Stolpersteine gesucht werden. Ein Abfragewerkzeug erlaubt die unterschiedliche Filterung der Stolpersteine, zum Beispiel nur die Anzeige von Stolpersteinen von Widerständlern. Zudem hilft das Abfragewerkzeug bei der Beantwortung von ersten raumzeitlichen Fragestellungen wie zum Beispiel „Zeige mir alle Stolpersteine an, deren Opfer 1937 nach Buchenwald deportiert worden sind.“

Gegen das Vergessen: Die Stolperstein-Geschichten

Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie kennenzulernen!

Sie möchten mehr Informationen über das Stolperstein-Projekt oder individuelle Geschichten erfragen? Sie haben Interesse, zu spenden? Bitte melden Sie sich bei uns, wir melden uns schnellstmöglich bei Ihnen zurück.

Villa Merländer e.V.
Friedrich-Ebert-Straße 42
47799 Krefeld